Yes! Laws and regulations vary from state to state, so it is not uncommon that bonding fees and processes will vary as well. Using a bail agent will make the entire process of working across state lines easier.
- In 2014, Justin Bieber was arrested for drag racing and driving under the influence of alcohol with an expired license. His bail was set at $2,500.
- Lindsay Lohan has been to jail a number of times since 2007 for DUIs, reckless driving, theft, falsifying information, and assault. Her bail was set at $300,000 and she paid $75,000 with the help of a bail agent.
- OJ Simpson has denied bail when he was arrested for the murders of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ronald Goldman in 1994. When he was arrested again in 2007 for robbery and kidnapping, his bail was set at $250,000.
Hollywood stars are served bail just as a judge would assign it to any other defendant. While many stars have the ability to pay bail directly, they often choose to hire an agent for a bail bond.
The Minnesota Statute 169.81 states that no vehicle shall be driven if it carries a load that is not secure, “as to prevent any of its load from dropping, sifting, leaking, blowing, or otherwise escaping therefrom.” Ice or snow caught falling or blowing from a vehicle onto the street can furthermore be considered by Minnesota Statute 169.42 as littering, and guilty of a misdemeanor.
According to Minnesota Statute 160.2715, it is illegal to shovel or plow snow onto roads and streets, a tactic sometimes used to clear off sidewalks or driveways.
A first-time violation is punishable by up to 90 days in jail, a $1000 fine, and the loss of snowmobiling privileges for one year. Any additional aggravating factors, increases the time and punishment, including:
- DWI history
- Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) greater than 0.16
- Presence of child under 16 on the snowmobile at the time of the offense
Yes! Much like a DWI, reckless behavior while under the influence carries consequences including jail time and hefty fines.
Agents work to meet with clients as quickly as possible, certainly within a day, to get the bail process started.
In general, the top three charges we see are DWIs, possession of a controlled substance, and domestic assault.
AAA will text you reminders for your court date to make sure you appear on time.
- The DUI/DWI is a second-degree level DWI
- He or she had a BAC of or greater than .16
- The DWI offense is a third-degree and the driver is under 19 years of age
- A child under the age of 16 was present in the vehicle with a prior DUI within 10 years
- The DUI occurred while his or her license was canceled as IPS or as inimical to public safety
Other than one being a vehicle used solely on snow, yes. As in all cases, a variety of factors influence each individual case, but both are penalties incurred while operating a moving vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
You are not required to take a sobriety test if you are pulled over for a suspected DWI. However, if you deny a sobriety test it is likely that you will be arrested and subsequently have to submit to an evidentiary alcohol test while in custody.
Yes, you and your criminal defense lawyer must decide on a combination of release conditions and bail amount.
Working is a valuable and beneficial thing for yourself and your family. It is also often a condition of being released on bail. If you lose your job when you’re released from jail, you may have to prove you are seeking employment as a condition.
Avoiding alcohol is often a condition of being released on bail. When you go to a party or have friends over at home, it can be tempting to have a beer, but it’s always better to play it safe and stay within the conditions of your bail.
Bring an official photo ID or other documents for identification, as well as cash or cards if bail is necessary. Cell phones will be confiscated, so be sure to write down or memorize important numbers. Typically, reading glasses and medications are allowed, but check with the jail’s medical policies.
Dress in clean and comfortable clothes, avoiding belts and drawstrings if possible.
It’s important to remember that the bail premium is never refundable in any condition, as the premium is earned by the bail company for service rendered upon the release of the defendant.
Once you sign for someone’s bond, you become fully responsible for the face amount of the bail bond while the bond remains active.
After the bail amount is determined, the defendant gets booked and bail gets posted on their behalf.
In general, the law gives a judge the freedom to set bail.
A person who transfers, possesses, or uses an identity that is not the person’s own, with the intent to commit, aid, or abet any unlawful activity is guilty of identity theft.
The penalties for identity theft in Minnesota range from a misdemeanor to a 20-year felony. The offense level correlates with the amount of loss incurred, the number of direct victims involved, or the related offense.
Intentionally takes personal property from a person or in the presence of another and uses or threatens the imminent use of force against any person
Intentionally takes, uses, transfers, conceals or retains possession of property belonging to another, with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of the property.
In MN, Domestic Assault it is against the law to “intentionally inflict physical harm” or “cause fear of immediate physical harm or death” to another family or household member.
A first-degree assault is characterized by physically assaulting someone to the point of great bodily harm, putting a person at risk of death, causing disfigurement or loss of use. First-degree assault is a felony charge and carries up to 20 years in prison with $30,000 in fines. There is also the possibility of facing second, third, fourth and fifth degree assault charges.
You are not required to take a sobriety test if you are pulled over for a suspected DWI. However, if you deny a sobriety test it is likely that you will be arrested and subsequently have to submit to a evidentiary alcohol test while in custody.
On average, more than 25,000 people are arrested for DWI in MN each year.
First degree murder is a premeditated act, while second degree is a result of unplanned, but a result of an act of violence.
Each case is different, but in general, manslaughter charges indicate death without malice.
It depends on the charges.
Real estate, vehicles, jewelry, and precious metals are examples of the many items that may be used as collateral.
Bail bond companies typically charge 10% of the bail bond amount.
Agencies obtain a license from the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
Supreme Courts at the state and federal level review freedom of expression cases. Typically, cases are reviewed at the highest level based on its content and how it relates to the government.
It guarantees the rights of free expression and action deemed fundamental to a democratic government, including freedom of assembly, freedom of press, freedom of religion, and freedom of speech.
Visit our online inmate search to learn more about finding defendants currently being held, sorted by county.
Visitors and employees to the court system will notice new partitions and barriers, floor markings, and signage reminding people to maintain at least a six foot distance from others.
Face coverings and social distancing in court and common areas are required. Per guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention as well as the Minnesota Department of Health, Courts will notify individuals who were in close contact with a person who tested positive for COVID-19.
Consult your landlord and your utility companies. Most utility companies cannot legally turn off your utilities, but are able to set up a payment plan for those in need.
No, in March 2020 Governor Walz ordered an eviction moratorium throughout the state of MN.
In December 2020 unresolved citations will incur additional fees.
You may send in a payment by mail, by phone, in person, or online. Visit https://www.mncourts.gov/fines to find your applicable contact information.
Yes, although you are only able to serve on a jury again four years after the completion of previous jury service.
New cleaning and social distancing protocols are in place, as well as mandatory face coverings for jurors. Read the complete list here.
Most criminal records have a waiting period before the Court will grant an expungement. In most cases, this period starts when you are discharged from probation. You also must remain crime-free during the waiting period.